The National Telecommunications and Information Administration’s Commerce Spectrum Management Advisory Committee — better known as the CSMAC — has a new roster of 30 outside expert members, appointed by U.S. Commerce Secretary Wilbur Ross.

The CSMAC is led by co-chairs Jennifer Warren, VP of technology policy and regulation at Lockheed Martin and Charla Rath, an independent consultant and former Verizon public policy executive. Each member of the committee serves a two-year term; the outside experts on spectrum and policy are drawn from companies including AT&T, T-Mobile US, Ericsson, Cisco, Boeing, John Deere, Federated Wireless, DISH Network, Facebook, INMARSAT and others.

The work ahead of CSMAC includes “issues related to the growing demand for spectrum to support 5G technologies as well as ensuring continued access to spectrum for critical federal government, defense and national security missions,” NTIA said.

New members among the 30 appointees include:

-Claude Aiken, president and CEO of the Wireless Internet Service Providers Association

-Jeff Cohen, chief council and director of government relations for APCO International

-Ruth Pritchard-Kelly, VP of regulatory affairs for OneWeb

-Jennifer Manner, senior VP of regulatory affairs for Echostar

-Wayne Phoel, an independent consultant, previously with the Massachusetts Institute of Technology’s Lincoln Laboratory and the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency

“Smart spectrum policy is key to the growth, prosperity and safety of all Americans,” said new appointee Aiken of WISPA. “Wireless technology, which is brought to life through spectrum, is so important to our economy, international trade and relations, our homeland security and national defense.  I can’t wait to serve my country and be a part of developing sound, balanced policy, which furthers the myriad benefits spectrum delivers for the U.S. and its citizens.”

The full list of CSMAC members is available here.

In related news, the Commerce Department is also seeking a new member for the First Responders Network Authority board and has reopened the application window through April 26. The fifteen member board includes 12 non-permanent members, the Secretary of Homeland Security, U.S. Attorney General and Director of the Office of Management and Budget. Board member Teri Takai‘s term expires in August of this year and NTIA is seeking applicants for that board seat.

The post Commerce Secretary appoints new spectrum committee members; new FirstNet board member sought appeared first on RCR Wireless News.